140 characters or bust Part 3

A third post about the writing game. I wish I had the proverbial dime for every time a client or prospective client told me that they want the web site for which I am writing the content to be at the top of the first page on Google.

I usually ask a follow-up question such as, “How much money do you have?”

Yes, you and your business should have a web site. Yes, you have to take into consideration SEO (Search Engine Optimization) and meta tags and a meta description.

I take them into consideration when I’m writing content, especially for a web site and less so for a blog. I’m not going to take up space and time on this post discussing SEO and meta tags. You can search and find plenty of resources.

But I will share this. I use http://www.reactionengine.com to get a sense if what I have written for a web site is coherent, easy-to-read and is in the ball park for search engines. It is not fool-proof! But it gives a web site a letter grade, and I find it helpful. I also punch in competitors’ web sites, well known web sites, blogs, etc., just to see what they do “behind the scenes.” Give it a shot. Play around. It’s free.

[See here for another (complimentary!) opinion.]

Is SEO a big deal for you?

About Bob McCarthy

Originally from the Northeast, I now call Southwest Florida home. I have been a professional copywriter and editor since 1979, both freelance and in house. I have had article published in regional, national and international magazines. Plus, a video for which I wrote the script won an industry award as Best Training Video.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Cool Stuff, Team Development Strategies, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

