140 characters or bust

A friend asked me recently if I was going to start the blog I had mentioned about writing. I said probably not.

I’ve taught writing. It was okay. I learned more about writing than the people I was teaching.

I’ve learned tricks about writing that I use with regularity. There is freewriting, chain and list paragraph structure, avoiding using adverbs under the pain of mortal sin [Yes, recently is in the first paragraph.], reduce if not eliminate any form of the verb “to be,” and on and on.

They are tricks. And they do work.

The Resume and Writing

What I like about writing is the way it can allow you to gather your thoughts more clearly. It’s good practice for preparing a presentation or presenting an  argument.

For example.

At one time I was the coordinator of a career planning component in an educational facility. One of the mainstays of our program was assisting soon-to-be graduates in developing a resume.

Now I’m not convinced and never have been that an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet of paper can contain everything there is to know about anyone. No way.

But for the person preparing the resume (the applicant) it can be a helpful way to get them focused for when they have to talk about and defend themselves, as in an interview.

That can be useful. But a 50 word post on a social media page — that may not get it. And a 140 character Tweet? Fahgettaboudit!

PS: Check this out. There are international competitions for resumes.

http://www.careerdirectors.com/tori_all.htm

Why do you write?

About Bob McCarthy

Originally from the Northeast, I now call Southwest Florida home. I have been a professional copywriter and editor since 1979, both freelance and in house. I have had article published in regional, national and international magazines. Plus, a video for which I wrote the script won an industry award as Best Training Video.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Team Development Strategies, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

