Everything’s a Process

“When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.” — Sherlock Holmes.

Example One

I bought a bicycle air pump the other day. It wasn’t a “must have” purchase but a “nice to have” purchase. I first went on-line to a site for a Big Box store to make sure my trip wasn’t wasted, found a model at a price that seemed reasonable, then drove a couple of miles and bought the thing. (Process 1)

I get back and separate the pump from its card (See below) and I examine the clever little device. Compact in size, seems easy to use has features like an air pressure gauge, one-time repair kit and a mounting bracket. The last item becomes an object of consternation.

I’m not bragging, but confessing, I have some mechanical ability. No, I can’t assemble an M-1 blindfolded,  but I have repaired cars and motorcycles and, yes, bicycles. But as I look at this plastic air pump and the illustrations on the card, I cannot figure how it is supposed to be attached to the bicycle. Here is a scanned image of the card.

 

You’ll note that half way down the card is Figure 1. It shows the pump attached to the bike’s frame in one of two ways using the mounting bracket at the top of the card. I’m stymied. Of course, I’m in the house and the bike is in the garage, so I have no visual clues and there are no instructions on the card, just Figure 1.  Process interrupted.

Ta Dah! I go on-line and type in the name of the pump and the phrase “mounting instructions.” Sure nuff, up they pop. Not being an avid cyclist, I did not realize that there are screws already on the bike’s frame for mounting such items like water bottles and air pumps! Out to the garage, inflate tires, mount pump and congratulate myself.

Example Two

 Recipe for Jamaican Jerk Chicken

1. Preheat oven to 350 °F.

2. Combine all ingredients except chicken in large bowl. Rub seasoning over chicken and marinate in refrigerator for 6 hours or longer.

3. Evenly space chicken on nonstick or lightly greased baking pan.

4. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 40 minutes. Remove foil and continue baking for an added 30–40 minutes or until the meat can be easily pulled away from the bone with a fork.

Leaving the stove on for six hours may save on heating fuel costs but perhaps the process should be revised by switching steps one and two. Just a thought.

Pump up a tire, bake some chicken, write a novel or solve a crime. Everything’s a process.

Comments welcomed.

About Bob McCarthy

Originally from the Northeast, I now call Southwest Florida home. I have been a professional copywriter and editor since 1979, both freelance and in house. I have had article published in regional, national and international magazines. Plus, a video for which I wrote the script won an industry award as Best Training Video.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Team Development Strategies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

