Key Words Correction

             

 In the last post, Key Words in Unlikely Places, we left the identifying of the “key words” up to the reader. However, one reader commented that that identification process was hampered because the selection from Dancing On Quicksand needed to be placed in context. That reader is correct. Later in the chapter, the author explains the passage we quoted and that, we expect, explains the key words. Here is that passage.

“Generally, I use David’s name more often than I would in everyday conversation with others. When we are facing any sort of challenge, such as the day at the California Café, I use his name even more frequently.

Having observed David over time and in a variety of circumstances, I know that in difficult moments, repeatedly using his name effectively grounds him in the present and reminds him, on some level, that he and I are connected. I am not a stranger, I know his name, and hearing his name anchors him.

Similarly, because David frequently has trouble remembering from one sentence to the next (or even from the beginning to the end of the same sentence) what we are talking about, I deliberately repeat the subject as we go along. So in talking about his dirty tissues, I repeat the words ‘dirty tissues,’ not only from sentence to sentence but sometimes within the same sentence. “[Italics added]

Hope this is more clear. Comments?

About Bob McCarthy

Originally from the Northeast, I now call Southwest Florida home. I have been a professional copywriter and editor since 1979, both freelance and in house. I have had article published in regional, national and international magazines. Plus, a video for which I wrote the script won an industry award as Best Training Video.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Team Development Strategies, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

